## Cabinet secretary opens new school



The new Johnston CP Primary School has been officially opened by the Cabinet Secretary for Education, Kirsty Williams AM.

The school - which opened its doors to pupils in the New Year - represents a  $\pounds 6.4$  million investment in education in the village.

It is the third new school built in Pembrokeshire under the  $21^{\text{st}}$  Century Schools Programme - a collaboration between Pembrokeshire County Council and the Welsh Government who are sharing the funding.

It caters for 210 full-time pupils as well as providing nursery facilities and a Learning Resource Centre (LRC) for up to 20 children with complex or additional needs.



Mrs Williams was welcomed to the school by Council Chairman, Tony Brinsden, and headteacher Gareth Thomas.

She told guests that the school was the result of what could be achieved when local authorities and Welsh Government worked together in the 21st Century Schools programme

The Chairman of the school's governing body, County Councillor Ken Rowlands, said that after a 14 year campaign, he was "ecstatic" to be at the opening of the new facility.

"Positive things happen by putting people before politics" he added.

After unveiling a plaque, the Cabinet Secretary toured classrooms and met pupils and teaching staff.

As well as the infant and junior classrooms, early years unit and LRC, there is a technology room, library, plant room, hall and kitchen.

The outdoor space includes learning, social and play areas and a multi-use games area - with some facilities accessible to the community out of school hours.

The development also includes a new footpath and crossing to link with the existing footpath on Langford Road.

The school was designed by the County Council's in-house design team and constructed by Haverfordwest contractor W. B. Griffiths and Son.

Located off Langford Road, Johnston, it replaces the old school building in Cranham Park

## **Captions**

## Above

Kirsty Williams AM is pictured with Reception Class pupils Grace Morgan-Jones, Carwyn Morris, Billie Peace and Alfie Phillpot. With them is Council Chairman Tony Brinsden; Cabinet Members Sue Perkins and David Lloyd; Councillor Rowlands; Council Deputy Leader Keith Lewis and headteacher Gareth Thomas (second from right).