Local Development Plan Review

Overview and Timetable

 

Local Development Plan (LDP) Review / Replacement LDP (LDP2) 2021-2033

 

Why are we undertaking a Review?

The Authority adopted its Local Development Plan in February 2013.  After four years the Authority must review the Plan as a whole – this process commenced on 5th May 2017.  The purpose of review is to ensure that the LDP stays up-to-date.  Review provides the opportunity to make changes to the Plan, if these are required. 

The Authority is therefore now working on a Replacement Local Development Plan for Pembrokeshire.  It is anticipated that this Plan will be adopted in 2021 and will run until 2033.  This Plan will cover the area of Pembrokeshire, excluding the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority.

 

What have we done so far?

Between March and August 2018 we issued a call for Candidate SitesCandidate Sites are sites suggested by the public for inclusion in the LDP.   Pembrokeshire County Council are no longer accepting submissions of land as Candidate Sites.  A Register of all Candidate Sites proposed will be published alongside the Preferred Strategy.

Between July and September 2018 we ran an informal consultation on Strategic Options for the Local Development Plan.  In July we held workshops with key stakeholders, members and town and community councils to discuss these options. 

What are we doing now?

The Authority is currently developing its evidence base for the Replacement Plan, which is available here:

LDP2 Evidence Base 

The Authority is also working on its Preferred Strategy.  This is the document which will set out the strategic direction of the Local Development Plan.  The Evidence Base and feedback from the consultation on the Strategic Options will help to shape the Preferred Strategy.

Work is also being undertaken on the first stage of the SA Scoping report, which is known as the Scoping Report.  More information on this is available here.  Work is also underway on the Habitats Regulations Assessment (HRA) and once available information will be available here:

 

What happens next?

 

Later stages will include:

 

Preferred Strategy

Published for formal consultation by December 2018.

Deposit

Preparation will start in April 2019, with the document expected to be published for formal consultation by October 2019.

Submission to Welsh Government

By July 2020 (indicative)

Examination

Between Autumn 2020 and Spring 2021 (indicative)

Publication of the Inspector’s Report

By Summer 2021 (indicative)

Adoption

By late Summer or Autumn 2021 (indicative)

 

How do I get Involved?

If you would like to be kept informed of progress on the preparation of LDP 2, please send an e-mail to ldp@pembrokeshire.gov.uk, with your name, address, telephone number, language preference (English or Welsh) and whether you prefer to be contacted by e-mail or post.  For those without an e-mail account, please telephone 01437-764551 and ask to be put through to the LDP team.

 

 

 

ID: 2539, revised 18/09/2018