COVID-19: Any specific information relating to Pembrokeshire will be updated at www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk/coronavirus

Local Development Plan Review

Overview and Timetable

 

Local Development Plan (LDP) Review / Replacement LDP (LDP2) 2021-2033

 

 Why are we undertaking a Review?

The Authority adopted its Local Development Plan in February 2013.  After four years the Authority must review the Plan as a whole – this process commenced on 5th May 2017.  The purpose of review is to ensure that the LDP stays up-to-date.  Review provides the opportunity to make changes to the Plan, if these are required. 

The Authority is therefore now working on a Replacement Local Development Plan for Pembrokeshire.  It is anticipated that this Plan will be adopted in 2021 and will run until 2033.  This Plan will cover the area of Pembrokeshire, excluding the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority.

 

 What are we doing now?

The Council will be consulting upon the Deposit Plan on 15th January 2020 until the 18th March 2020. The Deposit Plan represents the first full draft of an emerging LDP.  The Deposit Plan identifies and allocates land for housing and employment purposes and indicates where these and other uses will be permitted. It also identifies areas where policies designed to protect the environment from inappropriate developments apply.  As part of the approval process, the Deposit Plan was reported to Cabinet on 2nd December 2019 and Council on 19th December. 

What have we done so far?

 

·         The Delivery Agreement was subject to a formal public consultation between 9th November 2017 and 5th January 2018.  Welsh Government agreed the Delivery Agreement on the 7th June 2018.

·         Between July and September 2018 we ran an informal consultation on Strategic Options for the Local Development Plan. 

·         Between December 2018 and February 2019 we ran a consultation on the Pre-Deposit Local Development Plan proposals including our Preferred Strategy.   

·         The Candidate Sites Register has been published 

·         Work has also been undertaken on the Sustainability Appraisal and Strategic Environmental Assessment.  

·         The Habitats Regulations Appraisal (HRA) and the Equalities Impact Assessment have been undertaken and the Review Report was been updated and published for comment alongside the Preferred Strategy. 

 

What happens next?

Later stages will include:

 

 

Submission to Welsh Government

By July 2020 (indicative)

Examination

Between Autumn 2020 and Spring 2021 (indicative)

Publication of the Inspector’s Report

By Summer 2021 (indicative)

Adoption

By late Summer or Autumn 2021 (indicative)

 

How do I get Involved?

If you would like to be kept informed of progress on the preparation of LDP 2, please send an e-mail to ldp@pembrokeshire.gov.uk, with your name, address, telephone number, language preference (English or Welsh) and whether you prefer to be contacted by e-mail or post.  For those without an e-mail account, please telephone 01437-764551 and ask to be put through to the LDP team.

 

 

 

ID: 2539, revised 05/02/2020