COVID-19: Any specific information relating to Pembrokeshire will be updated at www.pembrokeshire.gov.uk/coronavirus or How to apply for a Covid-19 test, gov.wales/apply-coronavirus-covid-19-test

Local Development Plan Review

Overview and Timetable

 

Local Development Plan (LDP) Review / Replacement LDP (LDP2) 2021-2033

Pembrokeshire LDP 2 Timetable Information

Following the publication of new guidance by Natural Resources Wales (NRW) in January, in relation to acceptable phosphate levels in Riverine Special Areas of Conservation we regret to announce a delay to the Pembrokeshire LDP Process. 

The new guidance means that PCC are required to re-asess all proposed allocations located within the catchment of a Riverine Special Area of Conservation and re-assess the LDP Habitats Regulations Assessment.  PCC are working with NRW and Dwr Cymru to understand the implications of this guidance and to identify any changes that will be required to the LDP as a result.

Once we have a clear revised timetable we will update our website and write to all Councillors, Community Councils and those on our database to update them.

Further information on the new guidance is available here.

 Why are we undertaking a Review?

The Authority adopted its Local Development Plan in February 2013.  After four years the Authority must review the Plan as a whole – this process commenced on 5th May 2017.  The purpose of review is to ensure that the LDP stays up-to-date.  Review provides the opportunity to make changes to the Plan, if these are required. 

The Authority is therefore now working on a Replacement Local Development Plan for Pembrokeshire.  It is anticipated that this Plan will be adopted in 2022 and will run until 2033.  This Plan will cover the area of Pembrokeshire, excluding the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority.

 What are we doing now?

Welsh Government (WG) issued a letter to all Welsh Local Planning Authorites (LPAs) on the 7th July 2020 (available here) in response to COVID-19, which sets out how planning policy should respond to the pandemic.  In respect of LDP reviews, it asks LPAs to reflect and consider the impact of the pandemic in the local area, and re-assess the evidence base which underpins the policies contained within an LDP.  WG also acknowledges that there will be a delay in the short-term to plan preparation as a result of the evidence base review, and they will consider revised Delivery Agreements to agree a new timetable for the LDP review.

In response to this letter, officers will therefore be reviewing the evidence base in the coming months, in addition to considering the representations received earlier this year during the Deposit Plan consultation. Reflecting the need to undertake this work a new Delivery Agreement has been drafted.  This document was approved by Full Council on the 8th October 2020, and subsequently agreed by Welsh Government on the 30th October 2020.

Focussed Changes

In summer 2021, a report listing all of the comments made on the Deposit Plan, together with a recommended officer response will be presented to Full Council.  A list of recommended changes known as Focussed Changes will be included in the report.  Additional Focussed Changes in response to updated evidence may also be introduced. Full Council will then consider and either support or suggest further amendments to the report.  Once agreed, any changes will be published as part of a Focussed Change consultation in summer 2021 that will be open for further comments. These dates may change as a result of COVID-19.  We will continue to monitor the situation over the next few months, and will post updates on our website.

Any representations which seek changes not recommended by Full Council will still be considered at the Examination in Public (anticipated for 2022) by a Welsh Government appointed Planning Inspector. You will be contacted by the Programme Officer prior to the Examination who will inform you if the Inspector will allow you to speak at the Inquiry or if your written comments are accepted instead.

What have we done so far?

·         The Delivery Agreement was subject to a formal public consultation between 9th November 2017 and 5th January 2018.  Welsh Government agreed the Delivery Agreement on the 7th June 2018. A Revised Delivery Agreement was approved by Full Council on the 8th October 2020, and agreed by Welsh Government on the 30th October 2020.

·         Between July and September 2018 we  ran an informal consultation on Strategic Options for the Local Development Plan. 

·         Between December 2018 and February 2019 we ran a consultation on the Pre-Deposit Local Development Plan proposals including our Preferred Strategy.   

·         The Candidate Sites Register has been published 

·         Work has also been undertaken on the Sustainability Appraisal and Strategic Environmental Assessment.  

·         The Habitats Regulations Appraisal (HRA) and the Equalities Impact Assessment have been undertaken and the Review Report was been updated and published for comment alongside the Preferred Strategy. 

.         Between 15 January and 18 March 2020 we ran a consultation on the Deposit Plan.

What happens next?

The new Delivery Agreement timetable is as follows:

 

Key Stage

Indicative timings

 

Focussed Changes (see above)

March/April 2021

Submission of LDP to Welsh Government

By Autumn 2021

Examination into the LDP

Winter 2021

Publication of the Inspector’s Report

Spring/Summer 2022

Adoption of revised LDP

Summer 2022

 

How do I get Involved?

If you would like to be kept informed of progress on the preparation of LDP 2, please send an e-mail to ldp@pembrokeshire.gov.uk, with your name, address, telephone number, language preference (English or Welsh) and whether you prefer to be contacted by e-mail or post.  For those without an e-mail account, please telephone 01437-764551 and ask to be put through to the LDP team

 

 

ID: 2539, revised 27/04/2021