Have your say

Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

The Representation of the People Act 1983, Schedule A1

The Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2006, and the Review of Polling District & Polling Places (Parliamentary Elections) Regulations 2006.  

We are carrying out a review of the polling districts and polling places in Pembrokeshire, as we are required to do by law. 

The purpose of the review is to ensure that all polling districts and polling places are, as far as possible, suitable and accessible to all voters. 

Polling districts

The Council is responsible for dividing its area into polling districts for the purpose of United Kingdom Parliamentary elections.  The arrangements made for the United Kingdom Parliamentary elections are also used at all other elections and referendums.  Each community in Wales, unless there are special circumstances, must be a separate polling district. When designating polling districts, we seek to ensure that all the electors have such reasonable facilities for voting as far as practicable. 

Polling places

The polling place is the geographical area in which the polling station is situated.  It is common practice to define each polling district as the polling place, rather than designating a particular building, which allows some flexibility. 

Polling stations

The polling station is the physical place in which polling takes place.  The (Acting) Returning Officer decides on the location of the polling stations. 

Steps for this review

We will give notice of the formal commencement of the review. 

We will publish the comments from the (Acting) Returning Officer.

There will be a public consultation period commencing on the 3rd June, 2019 which will end on the 26th July, 2019.

We will consider the representations received when we make the final recommendations.  

The final recommendations will be considered by full council in the meeting on the 10th October, 2019. 

Timeline for the review



27th May

Formal notice of the review

27th May

Publish (Acting) Returning Officer’s comments

3rd June

Commencement of public consultation period 

26th July

End of public consultation period

10th October

Final proposals considered at Full Council


Existing Arrangements/Acting Returning Officer’s comments

Existing Arrangements and Acting Returning Officers Comments

Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales review of the electoral arrangements of the County of Pembrokeshire 

Where a polling district/place review is to be carried out before the new electoral ward boundaries are fully in force, the review will need to be based on the current electoral ward boundaries, however, any review should also take any new ward boundaries that are not yet in force into account. 

The table below sets out the draft proposals made by the Boundary Commission.  Where there are currently no polling station arrangements in place, we would welcome your comments on suitable premises.

Draft Proposals

The following wards are not affected by the proposals and therefore do not form part of this table: Burton, Goodwick, Haverfordwest - Castle, Haverforwest - Garth, Haverfordwest - Prendergast, Haverfordwest - Portfield, Hundleton, Kilgetty/Begelly, Lampeter Velfrey, Lamphey, Letterston, Llangwm, Martletwy, Merlin's Bridge, Milford - Central, Milford - West, Narberth, Narberth Rural, Narberth - East, Neyland - West, Pembroke - St Mary North, Pembroke Dock - Market, Solva, St David's, St Dogmael's, Tenby - North, Tenby - South

For further details on the review of electoral arrangements in Pembrokeshire see -



Commenting on the review

If you are satisfied with the current arrangements, please let us know. 

If you are not satisfied, we would welcome your comments and would be particularly interested to know if there are more suitable premises that we could use. 

We are particular interested to know if there are any specific issues in relation to access to our polling stations. 

You can make comments via this Online Response Form

Alternatively, you can complete a hard copy and return to surveys@pembrokeshire.gov.uk or Pembrokeshire County Council, Policy, 2D County Hall, Haverfordwest, SA61 1TP

ID: 5239, revised 03/06/2019