Elections and Voting

Who can Register?

You are eligible to be registered if you are resident of this Country, a British, Irish, European Union or Commonwealth citizen and are over 16.

Citizens of British Dependent Territories also qualify to be registered.

You are NOT eligible to be registered if you are a foreign national (except as mentioned above), a detained convicted person or under 16.

European Union Member States

Austria Belgium Bulgaria
Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Hungary
Ireland Italy Latvia
Lithuania Luxembourg Malta
Netherlands Poland Portugal
Romania Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden United Kingdom

British Overseas Territories


Cayman Islands

Pitcairn Island

Bermuda Falkland Islands St Helena and Dependencies
British Antarctic Territory Gibraltar South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands
British Indian Ocean Territory Hong Kong * The Sovereign Base Areas on Cyprus
British Virgin Islands Montserrat Turks and Caicos Islands

* Many Hong Kong citizens already possess British citizenship and are therefore eligible for registration. However, the majority of Hong Kong citizens were previously British Dependent Territory citizens. Hong Kong ceased to be a British Dependent Territory on 1st July 1997. They will now be classed as British Nationals (Overseas) or British Overseas citizens - both come within the meaning of "Commonwealth citizens" as defined by the British Nationality Act 1981 and are eligible for registration.

Commonwealth Countries

Antigua & Barbuda Lesotho Solomon Islands
Australia Malawi South Africa
The Bahamas Malaysia Sri Lanka
Bangladesh The Maldives Swaziland
Barbados Malta* United Republic of Tanzania
Belize Mauritius Tonga
Botswana Mozambique Trinidad and Tobago
Brunei Darussalam Namibia Tuvalu
Cameroon Nauru Uganda
Canada New Zealand United Kingdom**
Cyprus* Nigeria Vanuatu
Dominica Pakistan Zambia
Fiji Islands*** Papua New Guinea Zimbabwe***
The Gambia Rwanda  
Ghana St Christopher and Nevis  
Grenada St Lucia  
Guyana St Vincent & the Grenadines  
India Samoa  
Jamaica Seychelles  
Kenya Sierra Leone  
Kiribati Singapore  

* Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.

** Citizens of the UK and the Republic of Ireland are registered to vote in respect of all elections held in the UK.

*** Citizens of Commonwealth countries that have been suspended from the Commonwealth retain their voting rights.

Electoral Services Office 01437 775714 or email electoralservices@pembrokeshire.gov.uk


ID: 1316, revised 02/10/2017