County Councillors and Committees

About the Council

The Council

Pembrokeshire County Council is comprised of 60 Councillors, who each represent residents in different areas of Pembrokeshire. Councillors have a duty to serve their communities and work with Council officers to provide services to the public. Every five years a local election takes place, where Councillors are elected to their position by residents of Pembrokeshire. In addition to working in communities, Councillors meet together regularly as ‘the Council', where they decide overall policy and set the organisation's budget for the year.

The Cabinet

The Council elects a Leader and a Cabinet is appointed, by the Leader, to assist him in his work. Up to ten Councillors form the Cabinet and each has an area of responsibility. The Cabinet meets regularly and makes decisions that are in line with Council's overall policies, with support from Council officers.
ID: 464, revised 04/10/2021