Please help us improve our website...



Earning qualifications can help you move on in your existing career, or take your first steps towards a new job or a more advanced course of study.

It can sometimes be difficult to make time to gain new qualifications, especially if you are already juggling the demands of work and family. By providing courses in local venues and at different times throughout the day, Learning Pembrokeshire can help make it easier for you. 

In the UK, qualifications are awarded by a range of different organisations. A guide to the different levels of qualification in the UK can be found at CoursesPlus+

Learning Pembrokeshire currently provides courses leading to qualifications which are awarded by the following organisations:

Here's a flavour of what Learning Pembrokeshire currently offers: 

Agored Cymru and National Open College Network accreditation provides accreditation for practical, bite-sized courses.  Learning Pembrokeshire currently offer OCNs in a variety of skills such as computing, brickwork, ESOL, food and nutrition, some languages, numeracy, literacy, sign language, some art, design and craft courses, local history, sociology, psychology, solar and wind power, and photography.


British Computer Society (BCS)

European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) has become very well recognised, and shows that you are competent to ‘drive' a computer.  Learning Pembrokeshire offers ECDL Essentials, ECDL Extra and ECDL Advanced.

ECDL Essentials (level 1) teaches you how to manage the risks associated with computer use, such as spam and identity theft, how to organise your computer, and how to use the internet and email.

ECDL Extra (level 2) broadens your knowledge of specific software packages to produce professional documents, spreadsheets, and presentations.

ECDL Advanced (level 3) shows that you are confident, competent and efficient in a range of different computer programmes. There are four modules word processing, spreadsheets, databases and presentations, with an individual certificate available for each. Candidates achieving all four earn an ECDL expert certificate.

For further information on ECDL search for a course using IT/Computing Qualification  


City and Guilds

City and Guilds provide vocational qualifications, where learners develop skills associated with occupations and jobs. Over one and a half million people work towards a City and Guilds qualification every year, in subjects including application of numbers, communication skills and English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL).


Oxford Cambridge and RSA Examinations (OCR)

A leading UK body, OCR provide a wide range of qualifications to meet the needs of learners of all ages and abilities.

ITQ user qualifications

We currently provide this qualification mainly through OCR but we also use units offered by BSC and the National Open College Network. You will be able to choose from a variety of units created by the various awarding bodies. ITQ user qualifications are:

  • efficient for learners and employers - you can get credit for recent prior learning, so no valuable time is wasted in reviewing skills you already have
  • relevant and up-to-date
  • flexible enough to meet the needs of individual learners and businesses and enable learners to work at level 1, 2 or 3 to achieve an award, certificate or diploma

Examples of units are:

  • Word processing
  • Spreadsheets
  • Database
  • Presentation
  • Communication
  • Publications
  • Website design
  • Working with digital images

More units are added all the time. You can join a course at any time throughout the year at a level suitable for you.

Further information about ITQ can be found on

Text processing (Business Professional)

Qualifications include an award, certificate and diploma at Levels 1, 2 and 3. Two entry level qualifications are also available.

This course enables you to become a proficient word processing operator, capable of producing letters and documents to a professional standard for home or work use.

Many specialist units are available for audio, medical and legal.

You can join a course at any time throughout the year at a level suitable for you.

For further information search for a course using IT/Computing Qualification


Royal Yachting Association (RYA)

Learning Pembrokeshire currently offers

Day Skipper and Yacht Master qualifications

For further information search for a course using General and special interest


Welsh Joint Education Committee (WJEC)

General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE)

If you missed out on these, or wish to improve on your grades, we provide a chance to take English, Mathematics, French, German and Science.  We also offer English at A and AS level

For further information search for a course using GCSE, AS and A2 Levels GCSE or GCSE, AS and A2 AS1 and A2



Many Welsh learners find that gaining a qualification is a good way to monitor their progress and a useful incentive to do some revision! 

The WJEC offer four levels of qualifications for adults who are learning Welsh, in the "Defnyddio'r Gymraeg" series.  The levels are Entry, Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced. 

For further information search for a course using Learn Welsh at one of three levels: Advanced, Intermediate and Introductory.

ID: 17368 Revised: 21/1/2014